The Charterhouse of Pisa only 3km from Pisa lies within the hills overlooking Pisa. It is sometimes called the Charterhouse of Calci from the name of the nearby village.
It is a Carthusian house founded in 1366. The present aspect of the extensive complex of buildings results from the remodeling in Baroque style which was carried out in the 17th and 18th century.
Visitors can be shown round the monastery only on conducted tours.
The main features of interest are the two cloisters (15th and 16th centuries) and the church, in pure Baroque style.
In the 1970s, the last monks left the monastery. Since 1981, the "Certosa di Pisa" hosts a Museum of Natural History.